Testimonials

Don’t listen to what we have to say read it for yourself. 

The dying art that we love

and so do our customers

As a company we know the importance of our customers feedback and recommendations, we ask all customer whether its from a one off job or commercial work to please leave us a review and add in images where ever possible so we can showcase the work we do and how proud we are of it. 

Google reviews

5/5

As a trusted business we run our business from reviews and recommendations, we have 34 genuine google reviews.

Excellent
Based on 34 reviews
Nic Reed
Nic Reed
2022-10-14
I'm absolutely thrilled with the work undertaken by Vaughan and Steve! What an easy process for me as the customer, from beginning to end. Thank you for advice, timely work, beautiful finish and immediate response for after care service. It was a pleasure to have Steve on site. I can't recommend highly enough!
Gez Leigh
Gez Leigh
2022-09-08
Just had anew set of stairs installed. Made in oak by Burberry Joinery Sheffield, who gave us good, sound advice and manufactured them in a short period of time. I can't fault them in any way. The price was very good. They recommended Adrian to us, to install them, who deigned and built an under stairs storage cupboard in oak. He then referred us to Hawksworth French polishers to finish them off. Steve, who has many years experience, went to great length to do an excellent job.We are delighted with the end result. I felt throughout that we were dealing with experienced, skilled Sheffield people who take a pride in their work, and don't charge the earth, as some of the well known big names do. We can thoroughly recommend them.
Wendy Davis
Wendy Davis
2022-08-19
Can not fault them, all my doors look amazing. Excellent service with genuine guys, totally recommend.
Keith Sheppard
Keith Sheppard
2022-08-11
Great company to deal with. Fast, efficient, friendly service. Superb quality finish...excellent! I can highly recommend, look no further, you've found the best!
Paul Widdop
Paul Widdop
2022-06-11
If you are looking for a French Polisher you have come to the right place - V Hawksworth - owned by Vaughn and assisted by Steve. They are brilliant and their quality of work is outstanding. We found Vaugh's company on the Internet and emailed them for a quote for our hall which included French Polishing 11 doors and staircase and Vaughn replied with a quote the same day. He talked us through the procedure and kept us up to date on timescales etc. We are so pleased with their workmanship and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Joanne Stubbs
Joanne Stubbs
2022-03-11
A refurb of our Hemlock staircase and a French polish to our new Hemlock landing /bannister etc. Transformation of the existing staircase it looks amazing, with a superb finish to the new Bannister. Brilliant workmanship with a very professional, high quality finish!
Nicole Bestall
Nicole Bestall
2022-03-01
V Hawksworth French polishing spray painted farrow and ball stiff key blue on our kitchen units. Amazing service and professional throughout, highly reliable and I truly love my new kitchen! The units were finished to a high standard and transformed our outdated kitchen into a modern kitchen. The communication between myself and Vaughan was great, he kept me updated throughout the whole process. Would highly recommend.
Rob Kenyon
Rob Kenyon
2022-02-28
True professionals of a dying art. Our staircase had been installed over ten years ago and never been treated or finished. Vaughan and Steve were meticulous in their approach in bringing the timber back to life. Their in-depth knowledge as French Polishers was evident throughout the works and were always happy to answer any questions. An open, honest approach and helpful throughout and in aftercare recommendations. I'm extremely pleased with the transformation and the finished product. Vaughan and Steve are a credit to the French Polishing profession and I would not hesitate to pass further works their way.
alison A
alison A
2021-12-03
Great work on the new staircase,we are really chuffed with it. Thanks Steve
Charlotte Elliott
Charlotte Elliott
2021-11-09
Vaughan restored and sprayed a Lloyd Loom chair and matching storage box for us and did an excellent job. The chair is a family heirloom having been given to my grandparents as a wedding gift over 75 years ago. He's done it proud, it looks brand new and will have many more years of use and love now. Thank you Vaughan!
Testimonials

French Polishing - Commercial - Doors & Staircases

See what customers have to say

Read it for yourself

With over 32 years in the industry we run our business through recommendations so what you have to say really means a lot to us. 

Laura Wild

Beautiful work done.

Beautiful work done.
Our staircase was fitted first, Vaughan came to polish it a few days later. Very professional, covered our floors and carpets with dust sheets. We left him to it and returned to a beautiful job. Very easy to communicate with, excellent job done. We are very happy and would definitely recommend. Will be keeping his number for future work for sure!

Nicole Bestall

Farrow and Ball stiff key blue on our kitchen units.

V Hawksworth French polishing spray painted farrow and ball stiff key blue on our kitchen units. Amazing service and professional throughout, highly reliable and I truly love my new kitchen! The units were finished to a high standard and transformed our outdated kitchen into a modern kitchen. The communication between myself and Vaughan was great, he kept me updated throughout the whole process. Would highly recommend.

Rob Kenyon

True professionals of a dying art.

Our staircase had been installed over ten years ago and never been treated or finished. Vaughan and Steve were meticulous in their approach in bringing the timber back to life. Their in-depth knowledge as French Polishers was evident throughout the works and were always happy to answer any questions. An open, honest approach and helpful throughout and in aftercare recommendations. I’m extremely pleased with the transformation and the finished product. Vaughan and Steve are a credit to the French Polishing profession and I would not hesitate to pass further works their way.

Charlotte Elliott

Lloyd Loom chair and matching storage box

Vaughan restored and sprayed a Lloyd Loom chair and matching storage box for us and did an excellent job. The chair is a family heirloom having been given to my grandparents as a wedding gift over 75 years ago. He’s done it proud, it looks brand new and will have many more years of use and love now. Thank you Vaughan!

Taylor-Rose

True professionals of a dying art.

I have no words other than look at the pictures attached!

My dad did our staircase in our home refurbishment and we cannot stop looking at it. It’s absolutely gorgeous and our main focal point in our home! We wanted our staircase natural oak with chrome spindles and that’s what we got.

Vaughan’s work is very thorough and if Vaughan isn’t happy with the finishing product he will go back to make sure that it’s at a very high standard which it always is anyway as he pays that much attention to detail. Vaughan is VERY reliable, very punctual and VERY professional.

We are still over the moon with our staircase and would always recommend V Hawksworth French Polishers- amazing work Dad, thanks again!!

Chris Jones

Welsh Dresser

Our Welsh Dresser had really aged badly not helped by massive water damage which I tried unsuccessfully to sort out myself. Vaughan and his team have worked miracles, going beyond my initial request to make it look really beautiful, I can hardly believe it’s the same dresser.